top of page

LTC: Travel entitlements of Government employees for the purpose of LTC after 7th Pay Commission

No. 3101 1/8/2017-Estt.A-IV

Government of India

Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions

Department of Personnel & Training

Establishment A-IV Desk


North Block New Delhi.

Dated October 18, 2018


Subject: Travel entitlements of Government employees for the purpose of LTC post Seventh Central Pay Commission - clarification reg.

The undersigned is directed to refer to this Department's O.M.of even no. dated 19.09.2017 on the subject noted above, which inter-alia provides that the travel entitlements of Government servants for the purpose of LTC shall be the same as TA entitlements as notified

vide Ministry of Finance's O.M. No. 19030/1/2017-E.lV dated 13.07.2017, except the air travel

entitlement for Level 6 to Level 8 of the Pay Matrix, which is allowed in respect of TA only and not for LTC.

2. It is observed that many Government employees in Level 6 to Level 8 of the Pay Matrix had inadvertently travelled by air on LTC during the intervening period from 13.07.2017 to 19.09.2017 (i.e. post issue of MoF's O.M. dated 13.07.2017 and before the issue of DoPT's O.M. dated 19.09.2017) under the impression that they were entitled for air travel as per the revised TA rules. This Department is in receipt of references from the Government employees and various Ministries/Departments seeking relaxation in respect of such Government employees in view of the hardships faced by them in settlement of their LTC claims.

3. The matter has been examined in this Department in consultation with Department of Expenditure. In relaxation to this Department's O.M. of even no. dated 19.09.2017, it has been decided to allow the claims of the Government employees in Level 6 to Level 8 of the Pay Matrix, who had travelled by air as per the revised TA rules while availing LTC during 13.07.2017 to 19.09.2017. This shall be subject to the fulfillment of other conditions of air travel on LTC such as booking of air tickets through the authorised modes, fare limit of LTC- 80, etc.

4. Hindi version will follow.

(Surya Narayan Jha)

Under Secretary to the Government of India


The Secretaries

All Ministries/Departments of Government of India

(As per the standard list)

Copy to:-

1. Comptroller & Auditor General of India, New Delhi.

2. Union Public Service Commission, New Delhi.

3. Central Vigilance Commission, New Delhi.

4. Central Bureau of Investigations, New Delhi.

5. Parliament Library, New Delhi.

6. All Union Territory Administrations.

7. Lok Sabha/Rajya Sabha Secretariat.

8. All attached and Subordinate Offices of Ministry of Personnel, P.G. & Pensions.

9. NlC, DoP&T with the request to upload this OM on Department's website at 'What's New'

and OMs/Orders - Establishment -* LTC Rules.

10. Hindi section for Hindi version.

Please connect with us @Linkedin for regular updates.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page